Vedic Philosophy – Summary

Vedic Philosophy is thousands of years old. Our awe and wonder of Vedic Philosophy (Vedas, Upanishads, BG, Athma Bodha, ….) knows no bounds, when we truly internalize its summary (see below) and its profound implications and usefulness. We have arrived at the this synopsis through a series of essays and other materials posted in this blog site under the banner of Spirituality in Practice. It has been truly a journey of study, learning, sharing and reflections. This is our 200th essay on this blog site, starting from April 2010. My sincere thanks to all readers, those who have offered their comments on line and off, as well as for the few who have engaged me in personal discussions over the years.

Vedic Philosophy provides a simple framework to study, analyze, observe and practice in any aspect of whatever we do in personal and professional life. In summary, Vedic Philosophy states that: Everything in the Universe exists in five realms or conditions (Pancha Kosha):

  • Material Object 
    • All that is perceived; Anything one can study and manage through Materials Sciences.
  • Living Object
    • All that can grow, born, live and die. Anything one can study, learn and manage through Life Sciences.
  • Emotional person (individual, family, society, nation, …..)
    • Life – experience, governed by the duality of like/dislike, happiness/sorrow, friend/enemy, good/bad, evil/noble, etc. 
    • This is the subjective universe – of impulsive action and reaction.
    • This is also the world that comprises all fields of human endeavors: Arts, Music, education, sports, religion, politics, career, economics, culture, society, family, ….
  • Intellectual being – Analytical Person (rooted in contemplation, analysis and reasoning).
    • Any subject understood as influenced by three sets of connectors (Guna) and their underlying Knowledge, Bias and Ignorance.
    • Objective – with sincere effort to understand the cause and effect. When our effort fails, we persevere while also accepting the reality as it is, as part of nature (Brahman).
  • Brahman (eternal, objective, omnipresent, intangible forces of nature). Brahman is incognitive. It is visible through the above four realms. It is the cause, the forces of nature behind all the effects perceived or understood through all our perception, feeling and thought.
  • “I think, therefore I am” is a philosophic thought that recognizes the first four layers or conditions. “I am, therefore I think” states the Vedic Philosophy. It includes the fifth layer. This realm is also stated as “I am consciousness” – Pragjnanam Brahma; “I am Brahman” – Aham Brahma. All five layers co-exist like the visible relentless waves and the invisible deep ocean and the wind currents, which enable the waves!

One can arrive at this knowledge or understanding as the end point of sustained study. One can also gain this knowledge instinctively, as the starting point. That is truly immaterial.

Above is a simple and yet profound understanding of any and all aspects of the universe. It is a framework, a starting point for our study, comprehension and understanding of anything. It is a simple basis for Maintaining / Managing Equilibrium in all Activities of our Life/ Living (MEAL)!

More details can be found in many of our previous essays. Here are a few for quick access:

Athma Bodha (Knowledge of The Self) – Part 1. Who am I?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s